Skip to Content
Free Initial Consultation
Call Now 305-440-4006
Galanter Law, P.A. Galanter Law, P.A.

Call Now


Florida Ignition Interlock Device Laws


Did you know that if you are convicted of a DUI in Florida your punishment may not only include court fees, jail time, driver’s license suspension, and an alcohol education course but also the mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device (IID) in your car? An IID is a device that is installed near the car’s driver’s seat and is wired to the engine’s ignition system. The driver blows in the device’s mouth piece and the device calculates the driver’s breath alcohol concentration (BrAC). If the driver’s BrAC exceeds .05, the IID will prevent the vehicle from starting.

Florida law requires an IID to be installed in the vehicles of persons convicted of DUI in the following circumstances:

DUI Conviction

Ignition Interlock Device Requirement

First ConvictionOnly if court ordered
First Conviction if BrAC is 0.15 or above, or there was a minor present in the carA minimum of 6 months
Second ConvictionA minimum of 1 year
Second Conviction if BrAC is 0.15, or above, or there was a minor present in the carA minimum of 2 years
Third ConvictionA minimum of 2 years
Four or More ConvictionsA minimum of 5 years

If your DUI sentence mandates that you install an IID in your vehicle, you don’t have the option to wait out the period of your driver’s license suspension and not install the IID. The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles will not reinstate you driver’s license until the IID is installed in your vehicle. When your driver’s privileges are reinstated, your new driver’s license will have a “P” restriction on its front. If you are found to be operating your vehicle without an IID device, you are operating a motor vehicle in violation of your driver’s license restriction (a criminal offence) and are subject to immediate arrest and impoundment of your car. Moreover, it is against the law to tamper with an IID, request or solicit someone else to blow into your IID for you, blow into someone else’s IID, or lend you vehicle without an IID to a person who you know has an IID restriction.

In addition to the extreme inconvenience associated with an IID, it is also costly. The driver is responsible for all installation and maintenance fees associated with his IID. Installation costs $162.00 and monthly monitoring, downloading, and calibration fees amount to $67.50.

The potential consequences of a DUI conviction are too steep to not seek out legal representation. If you or someone you know has been charged with a DUI in South Florida, is imperative that you contact an experienced Florida criminal lawyer. Galanter Law’s legal team includes a Fort Lauderdale DUI lawyer who has the experience and knowledge to possibly get the charge dismissed or the sentence lowered.

The Law Offices of Yale L. Galanter are experienced in:

Contact the Miami law offices of Yale Galanter at 305-440-4006 or browse through the rest of our site.